A little Father’s Day tip o’ the dusty straw hat

Bull Mitch

My father was full of sage advice, none of which I ever followed. He was also full of witticisms, which are all I can really remember.

Things like:

“Great minds travel in the same plane, but fools just think alike.”

“You pays your money and takes your chances … but mostly you just pays your money.”

“Some people get filthy rich in the oil fields, we just get filthy.”

“I love hard work. I can sit and watch it for hours.”

“There were two Mitchells killed in the Alamo, so you know they were surrounded.”

He was a decorated hero of World War II but said he refused to wear the Purple Heart so he wouldn’t have to explain exactly where the wound was.

When he and his war buddies got to together they never talked about the fighting, but only the antics, like climbing on the hood of a truck and stealing eggs out of the back of a slow moving truck climbing a hill.

Though one of his friends once let slip that Dad, a bulldozer operator, actually did that scene from a John Wayne movie in which the bulldozer operator raised the blade to deflect bullets while rescuing pinned down soldiers.

Because he was a bulldozer operator they called him Bull Mitch.

After he died in an oil field accident while I was in college, I began to ask my co-workers to call me Mitch. I think they sometimes called me Bull Mitch behind my back, but for an entirely different reason. There is a little of our fathers in each of us.

Happy Father’s Day.

First posted in 2012.

12 comments on “A little Father’s Day tip o’ the dusty straw hat

  1. Steve says:

    “Work smarter not harder”

    My fahter was in the Korean Conflict. He Graduated College with a degree in Forestry. He retired from Honeywell as a Quality Control Manager.

    Good thing he went for that forestry degree, knows lots about tree rings….

    Happy dads day to you too.

  2. dkc says:

    One I remember when someone asked him–“Mitch where do you live?” His answer, “Out at Plum and Nearly. Plum out of town and nearly out of the county.”

    Happy Father’s Day, Thomas!
    from your favorite sister 🙂

  3. I forgot how he used to explain how to spell our last name: m-i-t-c and hell from there on out.

    ________________________________

  4. Jan Graham says:

    Thomas you forgot when we were learning to drive ” I have driven further backwards than you have forwards.” And the famous line when you were hurt, “I have had worse places in my eyeball than that.”

  5. I think he came up with the driving for you.

  6. Beryl Baer says:

    Mitch, Your Father’s Day piece was better than the one in the paper.

  7. thanks

    ________________________________

  8. Anonymous says:

    A tightly-written tribute to a guy who sounds like he didn’t waste words. I admired it and would have admired the man.

  9. […] My father joined the Army when he was 16. He lied about his age. […]

  10. […] My father joined the Army when he was 16. He lied about his age. […]

  11. […] My father joined the Army when he was 16. He lied about his age. […]

  12. link 188bet says:

    This is the right site for everyone who wishes to find out about this topic.
    You understand so much its almost hard to argue with you (not that I actually would want to…HaHa).

    You definitely put a new spin on a topic which has been written about
    for decades. Great stuff, just great!

Leave a Reply

