Trump gets major endorsement … or not

Reid says he is pulling for Trump. (AP photo)

This is an endorsement Trump supporters can be proud of.

“Look, we’ve gotten along fine,” Senate Democratic Minority Leader Harry Reid is quoted by The Hill as saying. “With that bunch of people running, I’m kind of pulling for him.”

Reid added, “Oh, I remember the good old days when he did a fundraiser or two for me.”

Reid backed off his endorsement later, saying Trump is a “hateful demagogue who will do immeasurable damage to our country,” which is what he says about all Republicans, though Donald Trump isn’t one.

Reid’s remarks apparently were in response to comments by Trump on television earlier:

But I’ve always had a great relationship with Harry Reid. Frankly, if I weren’t running for office, I’d be able to deal with [Pelosi], I’d be able to deal with Reid — I’d be able to deal with anybody.

But I think I’d be able to get along very well with Nancy Pelosi and just about everybody. Hey look, I think I’ll be able to get along well with Schumer, Chuck Schumer. I was always very good with Schumer. I was close to Schumer in many ways.

Fox News anchor Megyn Kelly, not so much.

Of course, what this is really all about is money, life blood of politics.

Pelosi sent out an email plea today stating:

President Obama has emailed you.

Vice President Biden has emailed you.

And now I’m emailing you. That’s how serious this is.

The Republicans outraised us by $2 million last month. And I hate to say it, but the Republicans could outraise us for the second month in a row. We’re dangerously behind our goal with only three days until the Fundraising Deadline.

That’d be a huge problem for our chances to win a Democratic Congress.

I’m asking for your help to avoid kicking off the Election Year with a major loss.

Will you pitch in $5?

There were also links for other amounts, up to $250 or some other amount.

Reid’s endorsement is in the opposite vein as the one for Texas Sen. Ted Cruz who can brag that none of his fellow senators has endorsed him. Now, there is a ringing endorsement.

 

 

9 comments on “Trump gets major endorsement … or not

  1. John Gordon Edwards says:

    Wow!

  2. The only thing I want to see Harry pulling for…are exercise bands back at his hacienda in Anthem! January can’t come soon enough…

  3. Winston Smith says:

  4. Tonight’s boycott of the Fox debate…could be a shrewd political move by Trump. In his absence, the others are going to seriously pile on Cruz. With Trump having a small lead in Iowa…letting the other candidates do his dirty work roughing up his closest competitor might be a mischevous ploy. This may not be about Megyn Kelly or Fox News at all…

  5. Steve says:

    Ahh, I love Harryisms!
    Nice one Winston.

    I have a new employer. Just accepted the offer today. And it comes with a raise in pay.
    Darn good thing I had a thick cushion to live on for the last 5 months.

  6. Congratulations Steve…best of luck on your new endeavors!

  7. Rincon says:

    Good news Steve. You wouldn’t have been any good at being on welfare anyway. You’re just not made of the proper material for that.

  8. Congrats, Steve. Hope your boss appreciates your sense of humor.

  9. Steve says:

    Thanks, all!

    Rincon, I never applied for unemployment benefits, though I did use ACA. Now I bet I will have to pay full boat for the beginning of this years coverage.
    But I would have had health insurance without ACA…..at a minimum, for my wife.

    Mitch, I can let loose here. I know how separate work from private life! I’m glad people here get it.

    I held out for good things and it worked. I had to stomach turning down several, so called, offers.
    This outfit is listed on the Forbes 500 America’s best employers.
    By ejecting the low balls, I supported my skill and career field. Those employers cheaping out are all still looking for employees. They are going to have to step up and pay what technical people are worth.
    And that is what this country is all about.

Leave a Reply

