More layoffs coming to a newspaper near you

Sources report that the entire copy desk and page design staff at the Las Vegas Review-Journal have been given notice that they will be laid off in July — that’s about two dozen people.

There is a indication that some may be allowed to apply for other remaining jobs at the paper.

An interim publisher took over at the paper in April. As noted then, he had a track record of cutting jobs.

It is an entrance and an exit. (R-J photo)

5 comments on “More layoffs coming to a newspaper near you

  1. Steve says:

    When I was going to Rochester for various reasons, the building I spent most of my days at (not only was it big) had a cafeteria with a vendor. The food was pretty good too.

    Each trip I made that cafeteria was emptier and emptier. Those last few trips it was cavernous.

  2. Vernon Clayson says:

    It’s habit more than anything but after wondering why for 2 or 3 weeks I recently renewed my subscription to the LVRJ. Now I have buyers remorse, something like voters that keep politicians in office, e.g., Harry “the Red” Reid and Chicago street hustler turned jihadist Barack Obama. Both cleverly covered their treasonous leanings until firmly established.

  3. Anonymous says:

    When will the LIBERAL or left leaning neo-Marxist political writers (columnists) get their pink slip ? Let the purge begin soon…

  4. Athos says:

    I feel no sympathy for the RJ. They’ve brought this on themselves. But I do shed a tear for our liberties (but MSM has sold out long ago), and the elites that own the paper are insulated from the decay they cause.

    Kinda like Keynes. “In a 100 years WE’ll all be dead, so what difference does it make?”

  5. Bob Bradbury says:

    I came in just as the “good days”were ending. I can’t say that I ever really liked working there. But, I still feel attached to it and remain in contact with some of the people I worked with.

Leave a Reply

