The swirl of stories about Harry’s injuries

The Las Vegas Sun published a story over the weekend about a man who claims he lured a right-wing blogger into printing his fabrication about how Harry Reid was really injured on New Year’s Eve — beaten up by his younger brother — “to show the lack of credibility and journalistic standards among partisan media figures.”

He told his story to Power Line blogger John Hinderaker.

Appearing in a photo on the cover of the Sun section of the morning paper almost wrapped in an American flag, Larry Pfeifer told the paper, “They had no problem using a story that had nothing but some guy’s word. … Not one of them knew my real name.”

But Hinderaker says he did get Pfeifer’s real name and the Sun did not contact him for his side of the story.

Journalistic standards?

Though Pfeifer told the Sun he did not give Hinderaker his real name, Hinderaker says, “I told (Easton) Elliott that I wouldn’t give him a forum to tell his story unless he would stand behind it, using his real name. He relented and told me that his real name is Lawrence Pfeifer.”

Lack of credibility?

In his original posting, Hinderaker wrote, “That is Easton Elliott’s account. I can’t vouch for it, of course, but if what he says about the AA meeting is accurate, the inferences he draws seem reasonable.” He says he emailed Reid’s office about the allegation and received a non denial reply.

Hinderaker previously posted a blog that showed some inconsistencies in Reid’s story about his accident.

At one point Reid said, “I was doing exercises that I’ve been doing for many years with those large rubber bands and, uh, one of them broke and spun me around and I crashed into these cabinets and injured my eye.” Politico cited a source who said the band was attached to a shower door.

Reid later said in an interview: “Yeah, I had a big, that thick (Reid gestures with his hands), that I had been using for about four years and I was, you know, trying to maintain my, uh, firmness, and, uh, that was my weight training. I was doing that in my new home here in Nevada and a big metal hook that came out from the wall that was hooked there that the strap had no handle on it, slipped, spun me around, uh, about, oh I guess four feet (Reid points with his right hand to the wall of the interview room) and so I smashed my face into a cabinet so hard that uh …”

It broke or slipped? Shower door or hook?

Photo on cover of the Sun.

6 comments on “The swirl of stories about Harry’s injuries

  1. Bruce Feher says:

    Thank you for keeping up with the Sun Tom so I don’t have to!

  2. Steve says:

    They gat a liar to “totally debunk” the word of another liar. (Romney didn’t win, did he?)
    The whole thing stinks like a Reid.

  3. Vernon Clayson says:

    Whatever the truth of the matter most of us didn’t believe any of the conjecture, e.g., Harry Reid’s exercise rubber band breaking is like Three Stooges slapstick, that it was mob revenge is like Goodfellas in a much better neighborhood. The one about his brother using him for a punching bag is funnier than the first two, imagine two brothers in their 70s, they’re not even Irish, finally settling their differences. Maybe it was just some vertigo, he’s appeared to have a bit of a list when walking for some time.

  4. Athos says:

    You can’t believe ANYTHING Greid says. I’m not even buying his retirement until after January 1,2017!

  5. Steve says:

    Had some back and forth with another in the media about this.

    Seems its all fine and dandy for national media to run with lies about Romney’s taxes but its NOT ok for anyone to run with lies about how Harry Reid got hurt.

    Not that it matters…Harry got hurt, I hope he gets better and lives out his life with little or no left overs from the injuries.

    What really bothers me is one person’s lie is OK because it “totally debunks” one of the stories about how Harry got hurt but it’s just fine for Harry to lie and no one (in media) should be called out for furthering that lie….

    BTW,,,the IRS never filed any actions against Romney…that alone should have been enough to call out Reid for his lie but does anyone really think about investigating?

    Does anyone really think about Pfieffer lying to the media and then “coming clean” in the Sun?

    Once a liar, always a liar…especially in public purview.

    The other person in the media knows who I am talking about and does watch. That person should take note, I have never betrayed any interests.

  6. […] came on the hells of a weekend story in the Sun insert that told of a Larry Pfeifer claiming to have made up a story about how […]

Leave a Reply

